Current Members

Principal Investigator:


Ph.D. Students:

MSE Students:

  • Shuyuan Wang

Undergraduate Students:

High School Student:

Previous Members

(Are you missing from the list? Got a new job? Send us an update at [email protected]!)

Ph.D. Students

  • Shahin G. Lashkari (Ph.D. 2023), Software Engineer at Medtronic
  • Christopher Yang (Ph.D. 2022, Affiliate member; Primary advisors are John Krakauer and Adrian Haith), Senior Research Scientist at Lockheed Martin
  • Ravikrishnan Jayakumar (Ph.D. 2019), Postdoctoral Position at Johns Hopkins University
  • Robert Nickl (Ph.D. 2018), Postdoctoral Position at Johns Hopkins University
  • Amanda Zimmet (Ph.D. 2017), Postdoctoral Position as Application Systems Analysis at University of Virginia’s Department of Cardiovascular Medicine
  • Erin Sutton (Ph.D. 2017), Senior Professional Staff at the Johns Hopkins Applied Physic Laboratory
  • Alican Demir (Ph.D. 2015), Principal Engineer at Clearguide Medical
  • M. Mert Ankarali (Ph.D. 2015), Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering at Middle East Technical University
  • Shahin Sefati (Ph.D. 2014), Senior Manager at Comcast Research
  • Manu S. Madhav (Ph.D. 2014), Assistant Professor at University of British Columbia.
  • Eatai Roth (Ph.D. 2012), Assistant Professor of Intelligent Systems, Indiana University, Bloomington
  • John Swensen (Ph.D. 2011), Associate Professor of Mechanical and Materials Engineering at Washington State University
  • Jusuk Lee (Ph.D. 2009), Principal Research Scientist with Samsung Electronics
  • Vinutha Kallem (Ph.D. 2008), Senior Product Manager at Cruise Automation
  • Robert Webster (Ph.D. 2007), Professor Vanderbilt University

Research Scientists and Postdocs

  • Dr. Manu Madhav, Ph.D. , Assistant Professor at University of British Columbia
  • Dr. Ismail Uyanik, Ph.D. (Postdoc 2017-2019), Assistant Professor at Hacettepe University
  • Dr. Eric Tytell, Ph.D. (Research scientist 2011-2012), Assistant Professor at Tufts University
  • Dr. Sean Carver, Ph.D. 2006–2009 (as postdoc; co-supervised with Prof. Eric Fortune), and 2010-2013 (as Assistant Research Scientist),  Professorial Lecturer at American University
  • Dr. Sarah Stamper, Ph.D. (Postdoc 2013-2015), Associate Director of Research at Art & Science Group
  • Dr. Andrew Lamperski, Ph.D. (Postdoc 2012), Assistant Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Minnesota
  • Dr. Terence Mitchell, Ph.D. (Postdoc 2010-2011), Assistant Professor of Osteopathic Medicine at Campbell University School
  • Dr. Erion Plaku, Ph.D. (2010-2012), Assistant Professor of Computer Science at The Catholic University of America
  • Dr. Kyle B. Reed, Ph.D. (Postdoc 2008-2009), Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of South Florida
  • Dr. Jacopo Piazzi, Ph.D. (Postdoc 2003-2004)

M.S. Students

  • Murtaza Hathiyari (MS ’23)
  • Nivya Kuzhivila Pannickottu (MS ’23)
  • Jian Kwon (MS ’22)
  • Yixun (Daniel) Wang (MS ’22), Mechanical Engineer at Google Information Technology (China), Inc
  • Dominic Yared (MS ’20), Mechanical Engineer at Herrick Technology Laboratories, Inc
  • Yuqing Eva Pan (BS/MSE combined ’20), Robotics Software Engineer at Auris Health, Inc
  • Yu Yang (MS ’19), Ph.D. Student at Johns Hopkins University
  • Nicole Ortega (MS ’17), Robotics Engineer at Think Surgical, Inc
  • Abhinav Kunapareddy (MS ’15)
  • Landon Unninayar (MS ’05)
  • Brett Kutscher (MS ’04), Now a software engineer at General Dynamics Robotic Systems

Visiting Scholars:


  • Mohamad Ramadan (JHU BS ’04)
  • Andrew Lamperski (JHU BS ’04)
  • Christopher Carruthers (Summer REU, ’05)
  • Owen Loh (PURA recipient Summer ’04, BS ’05)
  • Michael Ryan Francis (JHU BS’05)
  • Daniel Valladao (Howard Hughes Fellow, Summer 2006)
  • Robinson Seda-Padilla (Summer REU student, 2006),
  • Joe Romano (JHU BS ’07)
  • Courtney Maxey (Summer REU student, 2007)
  • Christopher Dorbian (JHU Class of ’08)
  • Katie Zhuang (JHU BS ’09, Summer REU student, 2007)
  • Terrence Jao (JHU BS ’08, Howard Hughes Fellow, Summer 2006)
  • Avik De (JHU Class of ’10, PURA Recipient Summer 2008 and Summer 2009)
  • Yoni Silverman (JHU Class of ’10, REU Recipient, Summer 2009 )
  • Brent Dolan (JHU Class of ’11)
  • Robert Grande (JHU Class of ’12)
  • Elyse Edwards (JHU Class of ’13)
  • James Teasley (JHU Class of ’14)
  • Daniel Shin (JHU Class of ’14)
  • Haley Huang (JHU Class of ’15)
  • Jordan Mandel (JHU Class of ’15)
  • Samuel Frishman (JHU Class of ’15)
  • Alexander Griffith (JHU Class of ’15)
  • Ned Samson (JHU Class of ’15)
  • Akshay Alaghatta
  • John Curtin
  • Kevin Chang (JHU Class of ’18)
  • Duan Li (JHU Class of ’18)
  • Luke Arend (Summer REU student 2016)
  • Kyle Yoshida (Summer REU student 2017)
  • Brittany Nixon (Summer REU student 2018)
  • Marissa Ferreyros (JHU Class of ’18)
  • Matthew Ma (JHU Class of ’16)
  • Andre Ruas (JHU Class of ’17)
  • Emily Sturm (JHU Class of ’20)
  • Mimi Larrieux (JHU Class of ’22)
  • Giovanna Lemos Ribeiro
  • Elliot Liu
  • Alexander Wei
  • Daniel Wang (JHU Class of ’21)
  • Anoop Bhat  (Summer REU Student 2020, from Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Lauren Peterson (Summer REU Student 2021, from University of Washington)
  • Victoria Liu (JHU Class of ’23)
  • Lin Xu (JHU Class of ’23)
  • Saba Zerefa (Summer REU Student 2022, from Harvard University)
  • Jonathan Miranda
  • David Paik (JHU Class of ’24)

High School Students

  • Elif Servi Bulu (Summer Visiting Student from Turkey, 2023)
  • Holland Low (Baltimore Polytechnic Ingenuity Project Student 2021-2022, 2023 Regeneron STS Scholar), now an undergraduate at Lafayette College
  • Nicholas Keller (Baltimore Polytechnic Ingenuity Project Student, Fall ’06), now a Meyerhoff Scholar at UMBC
  • Kelly Canfield (Garrison Forest High School WISE Student, Fall ’06), now an undergraduate in Engineering at UMD
  • Lily Deford (Garrison Forest High School WISE Student, Spring ’06)
  • Ned Samson (Baltimore Polytechnic Ingenuity Project Student, 2010), now an undergraduate in Mechanical Engineering at JHU
  • Morgan Hobson (Baltimore Polytechnic Ingenuity Project Student, 2014-15)
  • Gus Meisner (Baltimore Polytechnic Ingenuity Project Student, 2014-15)
  • Jackie Magaha (Garrison Forest High School WISE Student, 2014-15

Previous lab photos can be found here.